The Past is Never

Siblings Bert, Willet, and Pansy know better than to go swimming at the old rock quarry. According to their father, it’s the Devil’s place, a place that’s been cursed and forgotten. But Mississippi Delta summer days are scorching hot, and they can’t resist cooling off in the dark, bottomless water. Until the day six-year old Pansy vanishes. Not drowned, not lost . . . simply gone. When their father disappears as well, Bert and Willet leave their childhoods behind to try and hold their broken family together.

Years pass with no sign, no hope of ever finding Pansy alive, and as surely as their mother died of a broken heart, Bert and Willet can’t move on. So when clues surface drawing them to the remote tip of Florida, they drop everything and drive south. Deep in the murky depths of the Florida Everglades they may find the answer to Pansy’s mysterious disappearance . . . but truth, like the past, is sometimes better left where it lies.

Perfect for fans of Flannery O’Connor and Dorothy Allison, The Past Is Never is an atmospheric, haunting story of myths, legends, and the good and evil we carry in our hearts.

Three Rivers

Tyson’s debut novel was a finalist for the Colorado Book Award for Literary Fiction and the Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters Award for Fiction. In Three Rivers a lifetime of lies, misunderstandings and dark secrets bubble to the surface as a flood threatens the land. Set against the fertile but dangerous landscape of the rural south near the fictional town of White Forest, Mississippi, Three Rivers weaves together three parallel stories, told over three days, as each character is propelled headlong into the storm.

Praise for Three Rivers

“Tyson’s good-old-fashioned Southern drama appears right in time for storm season.”—Booklist

Three Rivers is reminiscent of a Beth Henley play or a Flannery O’Connor story. At its contemporary Southern Gothic best, Three Rivers propels the reader along like the deep, fast currents of the floodwaters Tyson so aptly describes, rushing toward a poignant, cathartic ending.”—The Clarion-Ledger (Jackson, MS)

Three Rivers feels like a modern Southern gothic tale, with big themes and memorable characters. Compelling and entertaining, it’s worth your time.” —Mississippi Business Journal

Three Rivers explores the unknowable relationship between the choices life demands and the permission it doesn’t ask for.“—The Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)

Buy Three Rivers at your local bookstore or at an online retailer.


Follow me

Tiffany Quay Tyson

THE PAST IS NEVER, a southern gothic novel steeped in local lore, is available now. The Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance deemed it an Okra Pick. Tyson's debut novel THREE RIVERS was a finalist for both the Colorado Book Award for Literary Fiction and the Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters Award for Fiction. She was born and raised in Jackson, Mississippi and now lives, writes, and teaches in Denver, Colorado.
Follow me

Latest posts by Tiffany Quay Tyson (see all)